CRM 2013: How to disable autosave so my plug-in code won’t be effected

With Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013, the feature of auto save has been introduced. This feature is really long overdue, and its a feature we often overlook each day. For example, if your typing an email response on your cellphone, and the phone rings, you answer it and go back to work, right? When you returned, your email was right where you left off!

This is the same concept for CRM 2013, and not forcing users to constantly press save and close. As you work on the system the data is periodically saved as indicated by the icon on the button right of the new UI.

savediconcrm2013

saveiconcrm2013

 

 

 

As you can see above, the first ICON of the disc shows everything is saved. As you begin to work the icon changes letting you know you have unsaved changes to the page. If you wait for about 5 seconds the auto save feature will kick in and automatically save those changes for you!

While Microsoft CRM 2013 is certainly thinking ahead of design and form, many CRM 2011 plugins were designed to fire after a user saves a record. This save is captured and the plugin is fired, in this case, over and over again each time auto save kicks in.

Thankfully, Microsoft gave us an option to turn off auto-save for this release to help upgrading customers
whom may not have updated their plugin/sdk code as of yet. Please note, this feature will not be available in future releases, and your new designs should use the SDK Method that works with auto save.

For now, under system settings, you can click the button to disable to the auto save feature and save your upgrade and plugins! This will save you for now, but make sure to look to the future when considering to disable this useful option! Enjoy!

autosave2013

 

 

 

 

 

 

The CRM 2013 SDK also will provide insight into new methods available to watch the state of change.autosaveSDK